Challenging myself in 2014

I shop when I am upset. I shop when I am happy. I shop when I am bored. I shop when I am busy. I shop when I’m broke and I shop when I’m not. The key is, I shop!

At the end of 2012 I came across a blog called Greater than Rubies and I was inspired! Caitlyn gave up shopping for a year. She shared her reasons and her struggles and I wanted to do it! But I was in a horrible place. Shopping was my outlet for everything. I was not strong enough to take on the challenge.

As I’ve mentioned, 2013 began and ended in completely different ways and I knew that I was ready to accept the challenge that had been presented to me over a year ago. I prayed. I talked to my husband. I almost talked myself out of it. But I now have made the promise to myself that I will not shop in 2014. I will take the money I would have spent and put it away until the end of the year. And then I will donate it.

Now, it’s a little different for me than it was for Caitlyn. I am a nanny and therefore tend to wear workout clothes on a daily basis. However, I have a closet full of normal clothes but was still buying new outfits. And I have a dresser full of workout clothes but I could never turn down more!

I did stock up on a few things that I knew I would need but I used Christmas money and stuck to the budget I set. I have no reason to buy anything. I will learn to shop my closet. I will also learn to turn to God when I am upset instead of shopping. I will workout when I am bored. I will sing and dance around when I’m happy. I will realize that I am beyond blessed and that I do not need to shop to fulfill myself.

It will be a challenge and even though I’m only a few days in, I’m already wanting to go shopping. I know I can do it though. And I know that at the end of the year when I’m able to donate the money, I will feel better than any shopping could ever make me feel!

Leave a Reply

